top of page
  • Writer's pictureBrandon Singleton

God is poetry

<><><><><><><>

God is the poetry we lift from the mundane and meaningless coincidence of ordinary life.


Why am I what I am?


I am the offspring of chance.

Why do I dance?

I am the consequence of chaos.

Why am I at a loss?

I am the heir of fortune.

Whose circumstance is less opportune?


With God, everything happens for a reason.

When I attribute reasons for all happenings, I find God.

With God, life has purpose.

When I invent purpose for life, I find God.

With God, the generous are blessed.

When I wish to be blessed, I am generous.

With God, pain precedes peace.

When I wish for peace, I endure pain.

With God, wrongdoing begets justice.

When I am wronged unjustly, I wait.

And when I wrong others, I pray for mercy.


What are the odds of existence?


If that little dandelion hadn't grown just so,

and attracted the busiest bee,

Then everything would be different.


If that spider hadn't tired herself

to weave her web in that corner

and ensnare the unsuspecting fly,

Then everything would be different.


If that elk hadn't rubbed his great antlers

for one moment longer,

and shaken the mighty tree

to cause that particular acorn to fall,

Into the fertile soil near the bank

of the river whose course had been carefully sculpted for a million years,

Then everything would be different.


What if the wind had blown east instead of west,

And I were not?

Well then, I would be with all the others

who aren't.


But I am.

I am a poet.


I needn't believe in a god,

Because I understand God.



Published on 12/10/2020

78 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post

©2021 by Brandon K Singleton

bottom of page